Main Content

Seven Counties Added To Iowa Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
August 23, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- Federal disaster assistance is being made available to seven additional Iowa counties that suffered damages during the severe storms and flooding that began June 1.

They join the list of 50 counties that are receiving assistance as a result of a presidential disaster declaration signed July 29.

The seven counties were added to the disaster declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state, and conducted by local officials, representatives of the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Public Assistance (PA) – which is federal aid to state and local governments, schools, and certain private nonprofits -- is now available in Calhoun, Clarke, Dallas, Hamilton, Ida, Keokuk, and Washington counties.

PA provides grants, on a cost-sharing basis, to help rebuild public infrastructure damage from the storms and flooding. Generally, the grant covers 75 percent of the approved eligible cost. Grants help pay for emergency protective measures such as police overtime, debris removal from public roads and rights-of-way, and permanent repairs to roads, bridges and public buildings. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Under the declaration, the following counties have already been approved for Public Assistance: Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Clay, Clayton, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Guthrie, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lee, Lyon, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: