Main Content

Three Iowa counties added to federal declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
August 16, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- Three additional counties are now eligible for individual federal assistance to help communities recover from recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Those counties are Jasper, Mahaska and Polk. This brings the number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 32. The previously designated counties include Black Hawk, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Marion, O’Brien, Osceola, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Warren, Webster, and Wright.

Assistance may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. 

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties may register for assistance anytime at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time), seven days a week, until further notice. Those registering for aid should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves, details on insurance coverage, and any other information to help substantiate losses.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: