18 Additional Iowa Counties Now Eligible for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 14, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- Eighteen additional counties are now eligible for federal disaster aid to help them recover from recent severe weather and flooding, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

With the addition, state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in 18 Iowa counties are now eligible for help from FEMA’s Public Assistance (PA) program. The newly designated counties are Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Clayton, Delaware, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Guthrie, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lucas, Mahaska, Polk, Sioux and Story.

Under the declaration, the following counties have already been approved for Public Assistance: Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Clay, Davis, Decatur, Franklin, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Lee, Lyon, Madison, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Ringgold, Shelby, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

PA provides grants, on a cost-sharing basis, to help rebuild public infrastructure damage from the storms and flooding. Generally, the grant covers 75 percent of the approved eligible cost. Grants help pay for emergency protective measures such as police overtime, debris removal from public roads and rights-of-way, and permanent repairs to roads, bridges and public buildings. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top