Main Content

Six Counties Added To Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 28, 2010
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Six additional counties have been designated for all categories of Public Assistance as part of Minnesota’s federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Minnesota Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The announcement makes federal funding available to local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred June 17-26 in the counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Houston, Kittson, Nicollet and Sibley.

This brings the total number of counties designated for Public Assistance to 13. The counties previously designated are:  Faribault, Freeborn, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Polk, Steele and Wadena.  

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by local governments and certain private non-profit organizations. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at

FEMA’s mission is to support our first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top