Main Content

Lewis County Added To Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Release date: 
July 15, 2010
Release Number: 

BEAVER, W. Va. -- People who live or work in Lewis County may apply for disaster unemployment benefits if they lost income because of June storms.  Lewis joins Logan, McDowell, Mingo and Wyoming counties in the program.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and offered through WORKFORCE West Virginia to help people who lost their jobs or cannot work because of the severe storms, flooding, mudslides and landslides that began June 12, 2010 and continued until June 29.

The program covers all workers – including farmers and self-employed individuals – who live or work in one of the five counties and meet any of the following:

  • Cannot reach their place of employment as a direct result of the disaster
  • Could not begin a new job as a result of the disaster
  • Lost revenue from an essential customer affected by the disaster
  • Became the main source of income in a household because the former head of household died due to the disaster
  • Cannot work because of physical damage to their place of employment
  • Cannot perform work because of a disaster-related injury
  • Do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits from any state

The application process takes about a half hour and must be done in person at a WORKFORCE center. Applications may be submitted until 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 5, 2010, for those who live or work in Logan, McDowell, Mingo and Wyoming counties.  The deadline to apply in Lewis County is 5 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2010.   

These offices serve the counties affected by the disaster: Clarksburg, Logan, Welch and Williamson. Centers are open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Thursday and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Friday. For more information about Disaster Unemployment Assistance and WORKFORCE West Virginia call 304-558-3309

Persons applying for Disaster Unemployment Assistance do not need to register for FEMA disaster assistance, but those with storm damage in any of the five counties are encouraged to register at or 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Persons with hearing or speech impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: