Three New Counties Are To Receive FEMA Snow Disaster Funds

Main Content
Release date: 
July 9, 2010
Release Number: 

CHARLESTON, WV --  The West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency   Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced three additional counties have been designated eligible for infrastructure disaster aid for the February 5-11, 2010, severe winter storm and snowstorm.  The counties are Grant, Mineral and Monongalia. 

West Virginia became a presidentially declared disaster area on April 23, 2010. Counties previously designated include Berkeley, Brooke, Doddridge, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Jefferson, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Ohio, Pocahontas, Preston, Ritchie, Tucker, Tyler and Wetzel. There are now 20 designated counties under the declaration.

The State, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations may apply for funds on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. Snow removal assistance is also available for certain designated counties.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.      

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top