Main Content

Nicollet County Added To Declaration

Release date: 
June 29, 2010
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. -- Federal disaster assistance has been extended to state and local government agencies in Nicollet County, which sustained infrastructure damage during this spring’s flooding, according to state and federal officials.

Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today that Nicollet County is now eligible for Public Assistance (PA).  The state requested the county be added after a review of additional damage assessment data.

Under the federal PA program, state, local and tribal governments and certain private nonprofit organizations are eligible for federal reimbursement for certain costs related to flooding from March 1 through April 26.

FEMA will fund 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.  

The original 18 counties and one tribal community designated in the April 19 major disaster declaration were Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Clay, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Redwood,  Renville, Scott, Sibley, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties and the Upper Sioux Community.

The counties of Cottonwood, McLeod, Pennington, Ramsey, Red Lake and Stevens, as well as the Prairie Island Indian Community, were added to the disaster declaration on May 4 and Grant was added on May 28.

FEMA’s mission is to support our first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: