Last Day To Apply For Disaster Unemployment Assistance Is July 1

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2010
Release Number: 

WALLINGFORD, Conn. -- If the severe storms and flooding in parts of Connecticut from March 12 to May 17 affected your ability to work, you may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

The last day to apply for DUA is Thursday, July 1.  In order to qualify, you must have worked or lived in one of the designated counties – Fairfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London and Windham – and you must not be eligible for regular unemployment.

The DUA is a federally-funded program administered through the Connecticut Department of Labor to help workers who are unemployed as a direct result of damages caused by the March-May disaster. Even those who don't normally qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, such as the self-employed, may be covered.

You can file a claim with your local TeleBenefits line. To determine that number, check the blue pages of your telephone directory, visit the Labor Department’s web site at, or contact Infoline at 2-1-1.

Those eligible may also include:

  • Individuals unable to reach their job because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented by doing so by the disaster.
  • Individuals who were to commence employment but were prevented by the disaster.
  • Individuals who became the major support for a household because of the death of the head of the household as a result of the disaster.
  • Individuals who cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster.

Remember, DUA claims filed after the deadline may be ineligible for payment.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top