Main Content

Disaster Assistance Offices Update

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, KY --  As the July 12 deadline to register for disaster assistance approaches, the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will close some offices and change others. 

The Carter County disaster assistance office will close on Wednesday, June 30, at 6 p.m.  Disaster assistance offices in Madison and Rowan counties will transition into SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOC). 

The Madison County office at 558 South Keeneland Drive in Richmond and the Rowan County office at 1350 Divide Hill Road in Morehead will cease operating as disaster assistance offices on Saturday, June 26, at 6 p.m. They will re-open Monday, June 28, at 9 a.m. at the same locations as DLOCs.  The Madison County and Rowan County SBA DLOCs will operate Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice. 

SBA low-interest disaster loans are the primary source of funds for repairing and rebuilding disaster-damaged private property. So far, the SBA has approved more than $4.5 million in low-interest disaster loans to Kentucky residents and businesses affected by the severe weather of early May.

SBA representatives are available at most disaster assistance offices, and at all DLOCs to explain the application process, help individuals complete loan applications, and answer related questions. Applicants who receive SBA loan applications must complete them to be considered for FEMA grants that cover personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses. No one is obligated to accept a loan.

Anyone seeking information about low-interest disaster loans may call the SBA Customer Service Center toll-free at 800-659-2955 for assistance, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., or Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. local time. Information on SBA programs also can be found at the SBA website,, or send an email to

The deadline for registering for disaster assistance and for applying for SBA disaster loans is July 12. Disaster survivors who haven’t registered for assistance or those with questions are encouraged to call 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585, or go online at Telephone lines are staffed daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT until further notice. Help is available in almost any language.

Residents are not required to live in the county where disaster offices are located. They can go to any disaster office location. Disaster assistance offices are open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; they are closed Sundays. 

A summary of disaster assistance offices throughout Kentucky follows. Recent changes are in bold.

County Location Opening
Closing /or Transition
Carter Olive Hill Historical Society
(the old high school)
120 Comet Drive
Olive Hill, KY 41164
May 24
June 30
Fayette Centenary United Methodist Church
2800 Tates Creek Road
Lexington, KY 40502
June 23
June 30
Madison County Emergency Management
Joint Info...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top