Three Disaster Recovery Centers To Close July 1

Main Content
Release date: 
June 24, 2010
Release Number: 

WALLINGFORD, Conn. -- Disaster Recovery Centers in Groton, Norwich, and Norwalk will close July 1, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said today.

The centers, which opened in early June, help individuals, households and businesses affected by the severe storms and flooding that struck Connecticut this spring. FEMA, the Connecticut Department of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are staffing the centers with specialists who can provide information and assistance for survivors.

Homeowners, renters and business owners should register for assistance online at or by calling FEMA at 800-621-FEMA (3362) before visiting the centers. Multilingual operators are available. People with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 800-462-7585 to apply. Both lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (Eastern time) every day until further notice.

Once applicants have registered, disaster recovery specialists at the centers can check an individual case, answer questions about a claim, or request information FEMA needs to process the claim.

The centers, which will close at the end of business Thursday, July 1, are located at:

  • Groton - Groton Senior Center, 102 Newtown Road
  • Norwalk - Norwalk Community College, 188 Richards Avenue
  • Norwich -Three Rivers Community College, 574 New London Turnpike

The centers’ hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday.  Beginning June 28 the hours will be 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through the July 1 closing date.

Recovery officials encourage Connecticut residents to complete a disaster loan application from SBA even if they do not want a loan. Completing and returning the loan application is a crucial step toward getting some types of disaster recovery assistance. Renters and homeowners who SBA determines cannot afford a disaster loan will be referred to FEMA to be considered for several types of grants.

The deadline to apply for FEMA assistance is July 27.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: