Four More Kentucky Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 21, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, KY. -- Four additional counties have been designated for all categories of Public Assistance as part of Kentucky's federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Today's announcement makes federal funding available to Commonwealth and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, mudslides and tornadoes that began May 1, in the counties of Ballard, Carlisle, Hickman and Clark.

Clark County was previously designated for Individual Assistance.

This brings the total number of counties designated for Public Assistance to 76. The counties previously designated are: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breckenridge, Butler, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Clinton, Clay, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Henderson, Hancock, Harrison, Hart, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Knott, Larue, Lee, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McLean, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Nelson, Ohio, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Simpson, Taylor, Trigg, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wolfe, and Woodford.

Under this cost-share program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by Commonwealth and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top