Main Content

Fayette County Designated For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
June 21, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Fayette County has been designated for Individual Assistance as part of Kentucky's federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 62.  

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to assist homeowners, renters and businesses with losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The following counties are designated for Individual Assistance: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Bath, Boyd, Bourbon, Boyle, Barren, Butler, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliot, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Green, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henry, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Larue, Lee, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Nicholas, Nelson, Ohio, Owen, Pulaski, Powell, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Simpson, Taylor, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Woodford and Wolfe.

Disaster survivors with damage, large or small, are urged to register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. The telephone lines are staffed daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT until further notice. Help is available in almost all languages. An application may be completed online at The registration deadline is July 12, 2010.

If you or someone you know suffered loss or damage from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director.

Additional counties may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: