3 New Disaster Assistance Offices Open; Some Close

Main Content
Release date: 
June 17, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- The Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) continue to assign disaster recovery staff to better serve those devastated by the early May storms. This involves opening new disaster assistance offices in some locations and closing others. 

The new offices opening are:

Opening 9 a.m. Tuesday, June 15 through  6 p.m., Saturday, June 19:

Hardin County Disaster Recovery Center
Kentucky Emergency Services Center
Emergency Services Meeting Room
1450 Rineyville Road
Elizabethtown, KY 42701

Opening 9 a.m. Thursday, June 17 through 6 p.m., Saturday, June 19:
Estill County Disaster Information Office
Estill County Senior Center
532 Stacy Lane
Irvine, KY 40336

Opening 9 a.m. Friday, June 18 until further notice:
Garrard County Disaster Recovery Center
Garrard County Fire Department
208 Industry Road
Lancaster, KY 40444

In addition to the offices mentioned above, six disaster assistance offices are scheduled for closure this week. The Lewis County (in Vanceburg) and Jessamine County (in Nicholasville) offices close at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, June 15.  The Mercer County office in Burgin closes on Thursday, June 17 at 6 p.m. The Columbia office in Adair County closes at 6 p.m. on Friday, June 18, and the Greenup and Barren County offices close on Saturday, June 19 at 6 p.m.  All changes are summarized in the attached chart.

Residents are not required to live in the county where the offices are located. They can go to any disaster office location.

Staff at all locations can help with individual cases, answer questions about claims, or review information needed to process claims. Recovery specialists from FEMA Individual Assistance, FEMA Mitigation, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Commonwealth also can provide contacts for other programs that may be able to help.

SBA representatives will answer questions about the SBA low-interest disaster loan program for homeowners, renters, businesses and private, non-profit organizations of all sizes. These loans are to repair or replace real estate and/or personal property damaged by the storms and flooding.

Applicants who receive SBA loan applications must complete and return them to be considered for FEMA grants that cover personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses. No one is obligated to accept a loan. SBA staff members at the disaster offices also will help applicants complete disaster loan applications.

Anyone not able to go to a disaster office is encouraged to call the SBA Customer Service Center from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; or Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.  Call SBA toll free at 800-659-2955 for information and assistance. Visit the SBA website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance or send an e-mail to disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. To find out more about how a disaster office operates, go to: www.fema.gov/assistance/opendrcs.

If you or someone you know suffered loss or damage from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director. The Commonwealth has a special Recovery Helpline, 877-634-8175, for disaster survivors to use if they need help with mold eradication or other debris cleanup.

Disaster survivors who haven’t registered for assistance or those with questions are encouraged to call 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585, or go online at http://www.disastera...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top