Don't Delay - Register For Disaster Assistance Today

Main Content
Release date: 
June 15, 2010
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Oklahoma homeowners, renters and business owners who sustained damages in the May 10-13 storms have until July 23 to register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). But why wait until the last minute, say state and federal recovery officials.

"Don't delay - register now," said Federal Coordinating Officer Gregory W. Eaton. "We want to hear from tornado survivors as soon as possible."

Survivors of any disaster have 60 days from the declaration date to register. President Barack Obama issued a major disaster declaration for Oklahoma on May 24. The declaration and subsequent amendment made Individual Assistance available to eligible residents of Carter, Cleveland, Creek, Garvin, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties.

"Sometimes people put off registering because 60 days seems like plenty of time," said State Coordinating Office Fred W. Liebe of the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM). "But the sooner Oklahomans register, the sooner we can get assistance to eligible applicants."

There are three ways for homeowners, renters, business owners and nonprofit organizations to register:

  • Log on to
  • Call FEMA's toll-free numbers 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairments.
  • Visit an OEM/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), open in Seminole, Okemah and Ardmore through June 17. 

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, browse the features on this FEMA Web site at, visit the OEM site at or follow OEM on Twitter at Users of smart phones and other mobile devices can visit

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top