Three New West Virginia Counties Are Designated Eligible To Receive Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 14, 2010
Release Number: 

CHARLESTON, W.V. -- The West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (WVDHSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced three additional localities are designated eligible for disaster aid for the December 18–20, 2010, severe winter storm and snowstorm.  The added counties are Jefferson, Mercer and Randolph.

West Virginia became a presidentially declared disaster area on March 2, 2010. Counties previously designated include Boone, Calhoun, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Kanawha, McDowell, Mingo, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane and Wyoming. This brings to 18 the number of eligible jurisdictions under the declaration.

Eligible applicants include the State, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. The funds are available on a 75/25 percent cost-sharing basis. The declaration covers funding for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster damaged facilities, including snow assistance.   

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top