Two More Kentucky Counties Open Disaster Recovery Centers

Main Content
Release date: 
June 2, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, KY -- New Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open Thursday and Friday this week in Tompkinsville and Bowling Green.

?The new centers are jointly operated by the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The locations and opening dates are:

Opening 8:00 a.m. Thursday, June 3, 2010:
Monroe County Disaster Recovery Center
Monroe County Economic Development Center
202 N. Magnolia Street
Tompkinsville, KY  42167

Opening 8:00 a.m. Friday, June 4, 2010:
Warren County Disaster Recovery Center
Henry Frank Moss Middle School
2565 Russellville Road
Bowling Green, KY  42101

Regular DRC hours are Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Disaster survivors with storm damage, large or small, are encouraged to register online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585 for people with speech and hearing disabilities. The telephone lines are staffed daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT until further notice. Help is available in almost any language.

Recovery center staff members are able to help with individual cases, answer questions about claims, or review information needed to process claims. Recovery specialists from FEMA Individual Assistance, FEMA Mitigation, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Commonwealth also can provide contacts for other programs that may be able to help.

SBA representatives will be at the disaster centers to answer questions about the SBA low-interest disaster loan program for homeowners, renters, businesses and private, non-profit organizations of all sizes. These loans are to repair or replace real estate and/or personal property damaged by the storms and flooding.

Applicants who receive SBA loan applications must complete and return them to be considered for FEMA grants that cover personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses. No one is obligated to accept a loan.

SBA staff members at the DRC also will help complete and accept SBA disaster loan applications. Anyone not able to go to a DRC is encouraged to call the SBA Customer Service Center from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; or Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.? Call SBA toll free at 800-659-2955 for information and assistance. Visit the SBA website at or send an e-mail to

To find out more about how a DRC operates, go to:

If you or someone you know suffered loss or damage from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director.

Additional counties and their residents may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and
Disaster Recovery Centers:

Mercer County
Burgin Fire Department
204 Main Street
Burgin, KY  40310

Rowan County?
Rescue Squad Building
1350 Divide Hill Road
Morehead, KY 40351

Madison County
County Emergency Management Joint Information Center
558 South Keeneland Drive
Richmond, KY  40475

Adair County
Adair County Annex
424 Public Square

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top