IRS Offers Tax Relief For Eligible Tornado Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
June 1, 2010
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Taxpaying survivors of spring storms in 13 Mississippi counties declared by the President as major disaster areas may receive speedier federal tax refunds, avoid penalties for late filings, or take advantage of extended filing deadlines, according to the Internal Revenue Service.

A presidential disaster declaration triggers certain tax law relief provisions. The IRS has postponed until June 22 certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Union, Warren, and Yazoo counties that were damaged in April 23-24 storms and tornadoes. Deadlines were postponed until June 30 for residents and business owners in Alcorn, Benton, Lafayette, Tippah, and Tishomingo counties, where similar violent storms occurred May 1-2.

Taxpayers may also qualify to receive refunds from their 2009 taxes because of deductible disaster-related losses from these presidentially-declared disasters. It is important to save all receipts related to disaster expenses. Details can be seen on the IRS Web site, by launching a search for “Mississippi disaster” or by calling the agency’s disaster helpline, 800-TAX-FORM (1-800-829-3676) to order a copy of publication IRS 547, Casualties, Disasters, and Thefts.

Both individuals and businesses in a federally declared disaster area can get a faster refund by claiming losses related to the disaster on the tax return for the previous year, usually by filing an amended return.

For more information, contact the State Emergency Joint Information Center at 866-920-MEMA (6362), or visit us online at You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook using the keyword MSEMA.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top