Main Content

Disaster Assistance Expands To Local Government In Panola County

Release date: 
June 1, 2010
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Officials from the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that disaster assistance approved following the May 1-2 storms and flooding has expanded to Panola County.

The assistance is designed to help pay for emergency measures taken as a result of the disaster. It also helps fund repairs, restoration, or replacement of public facilities damaged or destroyed by the disaster. Towns, cities, other government entities and certain private nonprofits may apply to MEMA for help.

After further review of joint damage assessments completed with MEMA and local officials, FEMA designated Panola as the eighth county now eligible for Public Assistance. The counties are: Alcorn, Benton, Marshall, Panola, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo, and Union.

FEMA's Public Assistance Program is one way federal assistance gets to states, local governments and to certain private non-profit organizations. The funds allow them to respond to disasters, to recover from their impact and to lessen the impact of future disasters. While this assistance is aimed at governments and organizations, its final goal is to help a community and its citizens recover from destructive disasters.

In Mississippi, MEMA manages the grants and disburses funds to local communities for all projects. The grants reimburse applicants for 75 percent of eligible project costs.

For more information, contact the State Emergency Joint Information Center at 866-920-MEMA (6362), or visit us online at You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook using the keyword MSEMA.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: