Main Content

Kentucky Disaster Recovery Center Opens In Franklin County

Main Content
Release date: 
May 28, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- A Franklin County Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), jointly operated by the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), opens at 8 a.m. Tuesday, June 1, 2010, in Frankfort, KY.

All DRCs are closed on Memorial Day. Beginning Tuesday, the Versailles DRC in Woodford County will relocate to the new Frankfort location, about 10 miles from Versailles.

The new center is located at:

Franklin County Disaster Recovery Center
Kentucky State University
Exum Building
101 University Drive
Frankfort, KY  40601

Regular DRC hours are Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Disaster survivors with storm damage, large or small, are encouraged to register online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585 for people with speech and hearing disabilities. The telephone lines are staffed daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT until further notice. Help is available in almost any language.

Staff members at the recovery centers can check individuals’ cases, answer questions about claims, or review information needed to process their claims.  Recovery specialists from FEMA Individual Assistance, FEMA Mitigation, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Commonwealth also can provide contacts for other programs that may be able to help.

SBA representatives will be at the disaster centers to answer questions about the SBA low-interest disaster loan program for homeowners, renters, businesses and private, non-profit organizations of all sizes. These loans are to repair or replace real estate and/or personal property damaged by the storms and flooding.

SBA staff members at the DRC also will help complete and accept SBA disaster loan applications. Anyone not able to go to a DRC is encouraged to call the SBA Customer Service Center from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; or Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.  Call SBA toll free at 800-659-2955 for information and assistance. Visit the SBA website at or send an e-mail to

To find out more about how a DRC operates, go to:

If you or someone you know suffered loss or damage from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director.

Additional counties and their residents may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and

Disaster Recovery Centers:


Mercer County
Burgin Fire Department
204 Main Street
Burgin, KY 40310

Rowan County 
Rescue Squad building
1350 Divide Hill Road
Morehead, KY 40351

Madison County
Madison County Emergency Management
Joint Information Center
558 South Keeneland Drive
Richmond, KY 40475

Adair County
Adair County Annex
424 Public Square
Columbia, KY 42728

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: