Main Content

Kentucky Disaster Recovery Center Opens In Mercer County

Main Content
Release date: 
May 27, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- A Mercer County Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), operated by the Commonwealth of Kentucky and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), opens at 8 a.m. Friday, May 28, 2010, in Burgin, KY.

All DRCs are open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. They will be closed on Monday, May 31, for Memorial Day.

The new center is located at:

Mercer County Disaster Recovery Center
Burgin Fire Department
204 Main Street
Burgin, KY  40310

Disaster survivors with storm damage, large or small, are encouraged to register online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for those with speech and hearing disabilities. The telephone lines are staffed daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT until further notice. Help is available in almost any language.

Staff members at the recovery centers can check individuals’ cases, answer questions about claims, or review information needed to process their claims.  Recovery specialists from FEMA Individual Assistance, FEMA Mitigation, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Commonwealth also can provide contacts for other programs that may be able to help.

SBA representatives will be at the disaster centers to answer questions about the SBA low-interest disaster loan program for homeowners, renters, businesses and private, non-profit organizations of all sizes. These loans are to repair or replace real estate and/or personal property damaged by the storms and flooding.

SBA staff members also will help complete and accept SBA disaster loan applications. Anyone not able to go to a DRC is encouraged to call the SBA Customer Service Center from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; or Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.  Call SBA toll free at 1-800-659-2955 for information and assistance. Visit the SBA website at or send an e-mail to

To find out more about how a DRC operates, go to:

If you or someone you know suffered loss or damage from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director.

Additional counties and their residents may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top