More Kentucky Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 25, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky -- Twenty-five (25) additional counties have been designated for Individual Assistance and twenty-seven (27) for all categories of Public Assistance as part of Kentucky's federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 42 with today's addition of Allen, Anderson, Boyle, Barren, Elliot, Fleming, Garrard, Green, Hart, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Leslie, Montgomery, Magoffin, Menifee, Monroe, Nicholas, Nelson, Owen, Pulaski, Powell, Simpson, Warren and Washington counties.

Counties previously designated for Individual Assistance are: Adair, Bath, Boyd, Carter, Casey, Franklin, Greenup, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Marion, Mercer, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Rowan, and Woodford counties.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Today's announcement also makes federal funding available to commonwealth and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, mudslides and tornadoes that began May 1, in the counties of Anderson, Boyd, Breckenridge, Butler, Clinton, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Green, Greenup, Henderson, Hancock, Hopkins, Jackson, Knott, Larue, Leslie, Magoffin, Mason, Ohio, Owen, Powell, Pulaski,  Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties.

Counties previously designated for Public Assistance are Adair, Allen, Barren, Bath, Boyle, Carter, Casey, Cumberland, Edmonson, Garrard, Grayson, Jessamine, Hart, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Marion, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Simpson, Warren, Washington and Woodford. This brings the total number of counties eligible for Public Assistance to 55 counties eligible including the 27 added today.

Under this cost-share program, FEMA usually funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by commonwealth and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Disaster survivors are urged to register their damage, large or small, for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech disabled. The telephone lines are staffed daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT until further notice. Help is available in all languages. An application may be completed online at

If you or someone you know suffered loss or damage from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director.

Additional counties, and their residents, may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Additional information about this disaster is available at and

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top