Apply Now For Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 25, 2010
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- If you suffered income losses from the storms and tornadoes that struck Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo counties on April 23-24, you have until June 1 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

June 2 is the application deadline for people with qualifying income losses in Monroe, Oktibbeha and Union counties.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is a federally funded program administered through the Mississippi Department of Employment Security to help workers whose primary income was lost or interrupted as a direct result of the April storms. The program can even cover those who don't normally qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, such as farmers and the self-employed.

Applications can be submitted at or by calling toll-free 888-844-3577 Monday through Friday.

You can apply if you fall into one or more of the following categories:

  • You became unemployed as a direct result of the April tornadoes, storms and flooding.
  • You cannot reach your place of employment because of disaster-related travel disruptions.
  • You must support a household because the head of the household died in the tornadoes and storms.
  • You are unable to work due to a disaster-related injury.
  • You could not work because your place of employment was damaged or destroyed by the storms.

For more information, contact the State Emergency Joint Information Center at 866-920-MEMA (6362), or visit us online at You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook using the keyword MSEMA.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top