Two More Counties Get Disaster Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 24, 2010
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has amended the May 14 major disaster declaration following the May 1-2 storms, tornadoes and flooding in northern Mississippi to add Marshall and Union counties to receive Public Assistance. 

Local governments and some eligible private non-profit organizations in these designated counties may apply through MEMA for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The two counties bring the total number designated to receive Public Assistance to 14. Counties previously designated to get this help following storms and tornadoes of April 23-24 or May 1-2 are: Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Choctaw, Holmes, Issaquena, Monroe, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo, Warren and Yazoo.

 For more information, contact the State Emergency Joint Information Center at 866-920-MEMA (6362),   or visit us online at You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook using the keyword MSEMA.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top