Kentucky Disaster Recovery Centers Open In Carter And Lewis Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 24, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. --  Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) operated by the Commonwealth of Kentucky and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) open at 8 a.m. Monday, May 24, 2010, in Carter and Lewis counties.

DRCs are open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. The new centers are located at:

Lewis County
Lions Club
1008 Fairlane Dr.
Vanceburg, KY  41179

Carter County
Olive Hill Historical Society
(old high school)
120 Comet Dr.
Olive Hill, KY 41164

Disaster officials encourage people to register online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech and hearing disabled.  Help in all languages is available.

Staff at the recovery centers can check individuals’ cases, answer questions about claims, or review information needed to process their claim.  Recovery specialists from FEMA Individual Assistance, FEMA Mitigation, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and the Commonwealth can also supply contacts for other programs that may be able to help.

SBA representatives will be at the disaster centers to answer questions about the SBA low-interest disaster loan program for homeowners, renters, businesses, and private, non-profit organizations of all sizes. These loans are to repair or replace real estate and/or personal property damaged by the storms and flooding.

Representatives will help complete and accept SBA disaster loan applications. Anyone not able to go to a DRC is encouraged to call the SBA Customer Service Center from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.; call toll free at 1-800-659-2955 for information and assistance; visit the SBA website at; or send an e-mail to To find out more about how a DRC operates, go to: /disaster-recovery-centers.

This brings the number of DRCs within counties affected by the May 1, 2010 severe storms, flooding, mudslides, and tornadoes to five.

Other DRCs remain open 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday in Woodford, Lincoln, and Rowan Counties:

Woodford County Disaster Recovery Center:
Fire Station #3
1415 Huntertown Road
Versailles, KY  40383

Lincoln County Disaster Recovery Center:
South Lincoln Community Center
(former Kings Mountain Elementary School)
11650 Kentucky Hwy 1247
Waynesburg, JY 40489

Rowan County Rescue Squad building
1350 Divide Hill Rd.
Morehead, KY 40351

Additional counties, and their residents, may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

If you or someone you know suffered loss, or damage, from this latest disaster you are encouraged to document the damage, save any repair receipts and notify your local emergency director.

Additional information about this disaster is also available at and

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top