Disaster Unemployment Assistance Made Available In Three Additional New Jersey Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 24, 2010
Release Number: 

TRENTON, N.J. -- Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is being made available to three additional New Jersey counties that suffered damages during the severe storms and flooding of March 12 through April 15, 2010.

They join the list of 12 counties that are receiving assistance as a result of a presidential disaster declaration signed April 2, 2010.
Residents of three counties ? Burlington, Cumberland and Ocean ? are now eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

The three counties were added to the disaster declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state, and conducted by local officials, representatives of the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management, and FEMA.

The deadline for filing for DUA benefits for residents Burlington, Cumberland and Ocean counties is June 23, 2010.? DUA claims filed after the deadline may be ineligible for payment.

The DUA program is part of the federal disaster assistance process, but is administered by the State of New Jersey?s Department of Labor and Workforce Development (LWD).

Residents who lost their jobs due to this disaster should file a claim for DUA benefits by calling a LWD Reemployment Call Center or by visiting the LWD One-Stop Career Center closest to their home.

LWD Reemployment Call Centers:
Union City:???????????????? (201) 601-4100
Freehold:? ?????????????????? (732) 761-2020
Cumberland:?????????????? (856) 507-2340

LWD One-Stop Career Centers:?

For the location and hours of LWD One-Stop career centers throughout New Jersey, visit: lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/wnjpin/findjob/onestop/services.html

Those eligible for standard unemployment insurance benefits will not be eligible to receive DUA payments.

For information on all New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development programs and services, visit lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/index.html

Register For Federal Disaster Assistance

To register for federal disaster assistance, residents of the federally declared counties should call FEMA?s toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY/TDD 1-800-462-7585 for people with speech and hearing disabilities (for relay service, call 711 or 1-800-852-7897) between 7 a.m. and 1 a.m., seven days a week. Multi-lingual operators are available to answer calls during this time. Residents may also register online anytime at www.disasterassistance.gov.

Receive up to the minute New Jersey disaster recovery information by following FEMA on Twitter at www.twitter.com/femaregion2.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top