Only Two Weeks Left To Register For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 17, 2010
Release Number: 

SOMERSET, N.J. -- The deadline for flood survivors to register for federal disaster assistance is Tuesday, June 1, 2010, announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management (NJOEM).

Homeowners, renters, and business owners who suffered losses in the  mid-March floods and who live in Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset and Union counties may be eligible for disaster assistance.

"We want all New Jersey residents and business owners affected by the disaster to call or go online to register before it’s too late," said NJOEM State Coordinating Officer Lt. Bill McDonnell.

After a federal disaster is declared in an area, many forms of assistance become available to help individuals and families recover and rebuild. The Individuals and Households Program (IHP) provides funds directly to households affected by a disaster, to assist with minor repairs and clean-up, rental assistance for temporary housing, and other disaster-related needs. To date, nearly $12 million has been disbursed through IHP to eligible New Jersey flood survivors.

In addition to IHP, low-interest disaster loans are available through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). SBA loan applications are given to every applicant. If an SBA loan application is received, it should be completed and mailed in immediately. Even if the loan is denied, by submitting the application, registrants may become eligible for additional grants to assist with disaster-related needs.

New Jersey flood survivors can register for aid or follow up on their applications by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech and hearing impaired (for relay service, call 711 or 1-800-852-7897) between 7 a.m. and 1 a.m., seven days a week. Multi-lingual operators are available to answer calls during this time. Residents may also register online anytime at

Disaster Recovery Centers are currently operating in 12 federally-declared New Jersey counties to provide flood survivors with face-to-face assistance.     

At the Disaster Recovery Center, visitors can:

  • Receive information about different types of state and federal disaster assistance.
  • Get help completing low-interest loan applications from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters and business owners.
  • Inquire about the status of applications for federal assistance.
  • May receive referrals to voluntary organizations to help with immediate unmet needs.
  • Learn cost-effective mitigation measures to reduce the impact of future disaster losses.

New Jersey flood survivors can find the location of the recovery center closest to their home or business by calling FEMA’s toll-free hotline or by visiting the following website:

 "We urge all flood survivors to register for federal disaster assistance by June 1,” said Federal Coordinating Officer William L. Vogel. “After registering, keep in touch with FEMA if you move or have any questions about your disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number and pressing the Helpline option."

Receive up to the minute New Jersey disaster recovery information by following us on Twitter at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and im...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top