Main Content

Additional Kentucky Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 17, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Nine additional counties have been designated for Individual Assistance and 21 for all categories of Public Assistance as part of Kentucky's federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 17 with today's addition of Adair, Bath, Boyd, Carter, Franklin, Greenup, Madison, Marion, and Mercer counties. Other counties previously designated for Individual Assistance are: Casey, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Rowan, and Woodford counties.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected residents and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech or hearing disability may call the TTY number at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available until 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to

Today's announcement also makes federal funding available to commonwealth and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, mudslides and tornadoes that began May 1, in the counties of Adair, Barren, Bath, Boyle, Carter, Casey, Cumberland, Edmonson, Garrard, Grayson, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Menifee, Nelson, Simpson, Rowan, Warren, Washington and Woodford counties. Other counties previously designated for Public Assistance are Allen, Hart, Lewis, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, and Rockcastle.

Under this cost-share program, FEMA usually funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by commonwealth and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: