$600,000 More For Survivors Of April 23-24 Storms And Tornadoes

Main Content
Release date: 
May 15, 2010
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- In the last week, the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved an additional $600,000 in disaster assistance for survivors of the April 23-24 storms and tornadoes. Disaster aid approved for individuals and families, including temporary housing assistance, totaled more than $1.6 million by close of business Friday.

People and businesses in eight disaster-affected counties can still register for help by visiting www.disasterassistance.gov, or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585. Phone lines are open every day from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT. Help is available in all languages.

As of 05/14/10

$1.6 million Total FEMA grants provided so far to Mississippians for eligible disaster-related needs.

$1.4 million Assistance approved for housing expenses, including temporary rental assistance, home repair costs and help toward replacing destroyed homes.

$135,000 Disaster Unemployment Assistance available through the Mississippi Department of Employment Security to help workers whose primary income was lost or interrupted as a direct result of the April 23-24 tornadoes. The program may cover those who don't normally qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, such as the self-employed and farmers.

2,050 Number of contacts made by MEMA/FEMA community relations teams canvassing the disaster areas since April 29. The teams go door-to-door to offer individuals and small business owners information about available disaster assistance programs.

1,500 Families, individuals and businesses registered with FEMA. Those who have not applied for federal assistance have until June 29 to register.

1,485 In-person visits from tornado survivors to MEMA and FEMA personnel at Disaster Recovery Centers throughout the state.

1,030 Inspections of homes to view reported damage. The contracted inspectors confirm damage so FEMA can determine eligibility for housing assistance.

9 Counties currently designated to receive federal help under the April 29 disaster declaration. Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Monroe, Warren, and Yazoo counties were designated for both the Individuals and Households and Public Assistance programs. Oktibbeha and Union Counties were designated for the Individuals and Households program only. Issaquena was designated for the Public Assistance program only.

8 Disaster Recovery Centers where tornado survivors received person-to-person help with federal, state and local recovery programs. Four locations remain open.

7 Public Assistance applicant's briefings held by the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency. The briefings educate officials in disaster-affected areas about FEMA Public Assistance, a program that reimburses eligible local and state agencies and certain non-profits for expenses and damages occurring during the response and recovery phases of the disaster.

5 Days a week, the SBA Business Recovery Center is open to help businesses. The center is open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Yazoo County Chamber of Commerce at 212 East Broadway Street in Yazoo City.

1 Day following the president's disaster declaration for Mississippi, the first home inspection was completed and disaster assistance funds were approved and processed for payment.

Disaster Recovery Center Locations
Open Monday through Saturday 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Sunday noon to 6 p.m.

Attala County
National Guard Armory
911 Highway 35 North
Kosciusko, MS 39090

Holmes County
Ebenezer Voluntary Fire Dept....

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top