Main Content

FEMA Grants Extension To File Snow Disaster Requests For Public Assistance

Release date: 
May 14, 2010
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- The Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced an extension of the filing date for localities and private nonprofit organizations to submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPA) for damage resulting from the February 5-11, 2010 severe winter storms  and snowstorms. The date has been extended to June 18, 2010.

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania became a presidentially declared disaster area on April 16, 2010. “We’re reaching out to localities and private nonprofit organizations in the disaster designated counties, to be sure they complete the RPA so their eligibility for help can be determined,” said PEMA Director and State Coordinating Officer Robert P. French.

Eligible applicants include the Commonwealth, local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations. The funds are available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storms.  Funds are also available to designated jurisdictions for emergency protective measures (Category B), including snow assistance. 

The disaster declaration includes the counties of Adams, Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Chester, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, Philadelphia, Somerset, Westmoreland and York.

For additional information on how to apply for snow assistance, please visit the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency web site at

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: