Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For South Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
May 13, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the state of South Dakota to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by flooding beginning on March 10, 2010, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the flooding in the counties of Aurora, Beadle, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, and Union.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state. 

Nancy M. Casper has been named the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Casper said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: