Kentuckians Affected By May 1 Severe Spring Storms Can Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 12, 2010
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. – People in eight Kentucky counties – Casey, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Rowan and Woodford – are now eligible for help from the state and the Federal Emergency Management Agency as they recover from severe storms, flooding, mudslides, and tornadoes that struck the commonwealth beginning May 1.

Anyone who experienced damages in any of the designated counties may complete an online application at or apply by phone by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 for people with speech or hearing disabilities. The toll-free numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (CDT) until further notice.  Help in other languages is available.

State and federal disaster officials say those who have losses from the disaster should apply as soon as possible; they do not have to wait for an insurance inspection to begin the registration process.

Filing damage reports with state or county emergency managers or voluntary agencies will not start the federal disaster assistance process. You must register to start the process.

When applying for help, be sure to have the following information available:

  • Your current telephone number.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you now are staying.
  • Your Social Security number, if available.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered.
  • If insured, the name of your company or agent and your policy number.
  • Bank account coding if you wish to speed up your assistance by using direct deposit.

Kentucky Emergency Management officials encourage all who suffered losses to document the damage to your home, or business, by photographing the damage and saving any receipts associated to those repairs.  Report your losses to your local emergency management director.

A list of all county emergency directors and additional information may be found on the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management Web site at under the Current Disaster Page.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top