Main Content

Walker County Alabama Designated For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
May 8, 2010
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Walker County has been designated for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance as part of Alabama’s federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to three. DeKalb and Marshall are the other counties previously designated for individual assistance as a result of the late April severe storms and tornadoes.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected residents and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 1-800-462-7585. The registration lines are available until 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to

The announcement additionally makes federal funding available to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for public assistance, which includes emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. The federal share is 75 percent of the total project cost.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: