Three Cities Are Added To The Virginia Federal Disaster Declaration For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 6, 2010
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, Va. -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced the cities of Covington, Galax and Radford have been added to the localities that are designated as eligible for infrastructure disaster aid under the Commonwealth  of Virginia’s disaster declaration for the December 18-20, 2010 severe winter storm and snowstorm. This brings the number of localities participating in the declaration to 48 for the December Storms.  

Counties previously designated include Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Buchanan, Caroline, Craig, Culpeper, Dickenson, Fairfax, Grayson, Greene, Hanover, Highland, Lee, Louisa, Madison, Montgomery, Nelson, Orange, Page, Prince William, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Russell, Scott, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell and Wise Counties and the Independent Cities of Alexandria, Charlottesville, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, Norton, Roanoke, Staunton, and Waynesboro.

A second disaster declaration for severe snowstorms in February designated 37 jurisdictions for Public Assistance. Of this number, 26 were designated for both the December and February storms with 12 newly designated jurisdictions—Appomattox, Buckingham, Clarke, Essex, Fauquier, Fluvanna, King George, Loudon, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Warren and Winchester.

Entities eligible to apply for Public Assistance (PA) include the State, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. The funds are available on a cost-sharing basis for all categories of PA, including snow removal assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.            

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top