New Site For Disaster Recovery Center In Westerly On Friday

Main Content
Release date: 
April 15, 2010
Release Number: 

WARWICK, R. I. -- The federal/state Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) at the Westerly Town Hall is relocating on Friday. Its new location will be:

South County Community Action Agency – Open April 16
34 Pond St.
Westerly, R.I. 02891

Hours at the new location will be 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. until further notice.

Other DRCs currently operating in Rhode Island include:

Cranston-Garden City
150 Hillside Road.
Cranston, R.I. 02920

West Warwick Community Center
145 Washington St.
West Warwick, R.I. 02893

Bristol Fire Station
4 Annawamscutt Dr.
Bristol, R.I. 02809

Middletown Police Station
123 Valley Road.
Middletown, R.I. 02842

Berkeley Commons
500 Mendon Road.
Cumberland, R.I. 02864

Wakefield Mall
160 Old Tower Hill Road.
South Kingstown, R.I. 02879

At a DRC, residents can receive disaster assistance information, inquire about the status of applications for federal assistance, get help completing low-interest loan applications from the U.S. Small Business Administration and more.

Also available to assist Rhode Islanders with flood recovery information and referral are staff from various state agencies, including:

  • The Department of Mental Health, Retardation and Hospitals (MHRH) to assist with mental health and behavioral issues.
  • Representatives from the state’s Community Action Projects (CAPS) to offer assistance with basic emergency needs.
  • Case management staff to assist seniors who have been affected by the flood.
  • The Department of Human Services staff is available at the Cranston, West Warwick and Westerly locations to assist with food stamps, cash assistance and medical assistance information, if necessary.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top