Five Virginia Localities Are Added To Federal Disaster Declaration For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 14, 2010
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, VA. -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced five additional localities have been designated as eligible for infrastructure disaster aid for the December 18 – 20, 2010, severe winter storm and snowstorm.  The localities are Craig, Roanoke, and Tazewell Counties and the Independent Cities of Fredericksburg and Roanoke. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia became a presidentially declared disaster area on February 16, 2010. Counties previously designated include Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Buchanan, Caroline, Culpeper, Dickenson, Fairfax, Grayson, Greene, Hanover, Highland, Lee, Louisa, Madison, Montgomery, Nelson, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rockbridge, Russell, Scott, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Wise Counties and the Independent Cities of Alexandria, Charlottesville, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park, Norton, Staunton, and Waynesboro. There are now 45 eligible jurisdictions under the declaration.

Eligible applicants include the State, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. The funds are available on a cost-sharing basis for all categories of Public Assistance as well as snow removal assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.             

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top