Main Content

Four Maryland Localities Are Added To Federal Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
April 12, 2010
Release Number: 

REISTERSTOWN, MD. -- The Maryland Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced four additional localities have been designated as eligible for disaster aid for the December 18 – 20, 2010, severe winter storm and snowstorm.  The localities are Anne Arundel, Charles and Talbot Counties and the Independent City of Baltimore.

The State of Maryland became a presidentially declared disaster area on February 19, 2010. Counties previously designated include Baltimore, Caroline, Cecil, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery and Queen Anne’s. There are now 12 eligible jurisdictions under the declaration.

Eligible applicants include the State, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. The funds are available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities including emergency protective measures (Category B) snow assistance for designated localities. 

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: