All Five Rhode Island Counties Are Now Eligible To Receive Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 9, 2010
Release Number: 

WARWICK, R.I. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that all five disaster-designated counties in Rhode Island are now eligible for disaster Public Assistance for affected losses related to severe storms and flooding that began on March 12.

Public assistance has been made available to Bristol, Kent, Newport, Providence and Washington Counties via an add-on to the presidential declaration authorized by President Obama on March 29, 2010.

Under the expanded assistance, state, tribal nations, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in these counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. 

"Providing disaster recovery assistance to local communities as well as individuals and businesses is critical to the long term recovery for Rhode Island," said Gracia Szczech, federal coordinating officer. "Public Assistance offers a range of support to these communities as they rebuild their public infrastructure and recover from the severe storms and flooding."

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings for local officials to be announced shortly by Rhode Island and FEMA officials.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top