Main Content

Brule County Now Eligible for Public Assistance for December Snowstorm

Main Content
Release date: 
April 7, 2010
Release Number: 

PIERRE, S.D. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the South Dakota Office of Emergency Management (OEM) announced that Brule County has been added to the list of counties affected by the Christmas storm that are eligible for disaster Public Assistance.

Now a total of 13 South Dakota counties are eligible for reimbursement for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm and snowstorm of Dec. 23-27, 2009, that was declared on March 9, 2010.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits with federal funding for 75 percent of eligible costs. The State will pick up 10 percent of the eligible cost with the applicant taking responsibility for the remaining 15 percent.

Brule County had previously received a Presidential disaster declaration for the severe winter storm, which occurred Jan. 20-26, 2010.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: