Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For Arizona

Release date: 
March 18, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Arizona to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas struck by severe winter storms and flooding during the period of January 18-22, 2010.

Federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms and flooding in the counties of Apache, Coconino, Gila, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, and Yavapai and the Gila River Indian Community, Hopi Tribe, Navajo Nation, San Carlos Apache, Tohono O’odham Nation, and White Mountain Apache Tribe.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Mark A. Neveau has been named as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Neveau said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: