Main Content

President Declares Emergency for North Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
March 14, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Craig Fugate today announced that federal aid has been made available to the State of North Dakota to supplement state and local response efforts in the area threatened by flooding beginning on February 26, 2010, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, including flood fighting preparations, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the counties of Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Mercer, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Stutsman, Traill, and Walsh, and the Spirit Lake Reservation.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding.

Justo Hernandez has been named the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: