Main Content

Deadline To Request Federal Assistance Is March 19, 2010

Release date: 
March 5, 2010
Release Number: 

FORT MONMOUTH, N.J. -- The deadline is March 19 for state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in southern New Jersey to request federal disaster assistance for eligible costs and damages resulting from the Dec. 19 – 20 snowstorm.

The deadline applies to potential applicants in the seven counties that are eligible for disaster assistance: Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean, and Salem.

“Requests from potential applicants to determine their eligibility must be received by the state Office of Emergency Management by March 19,” said State Police Lt. Nicholas Massa, state coordinating officer for the disaster. “The sooner these requests are made, the sooner funds for the recovery may become available.”

There are a number of public organizations and private non-profits that may be eligible for assistance and all are encouraged to apply by the deadline.

Eligible applicants include state and local governments, school, universities, commissions, and other publicly-held organizations.  Additional potential applicants include non-profit hospitals, utilities, museums, performing and community arts centers, zoos, homeless shelters, senior citizen centers and others.

Additional information, along with a request for public assistance is available through each county’s Office of Emergency Management.

FEMA funds 75 percent of the approved costs for eligible public assistance projects.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: