Main Content

Only Five Days Remain Until Public Assistance Deadline

Main Content
Release date: 
March 3, 2010
Release Number: 

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Only five days remain until the March 8 deadline for Arkansas state and local agencies and certain private non-profit organizations that may be eligible for federal disaster assistance to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) form to the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM).

Public Assistance funds are available in 25 Arkansas counties as part of the federal disaster declaration for severe storms and flooding beginning Dec. 23, 2009 to Jan. 2, 2010.  The primary goal of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and state Public Assistance program is to provide reimbursement for eligible, disaster-related expenses and restoration of eligible facilities to pre-disaster levels.

March 8 is the deadline to submit an RPA for Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Clay, Cleveland, Craighead, Dallas, Drew, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, White, and Woodruff counties.

These counties were designated eligible for Public Assistance (PA) on Feb. 4.

March 29 is the deadline to submit an RPA for Pulaski County. This county was added to the eligibility list on Friday, Feb. 26.

ADEM and FEMA have received more than 50 RPAs from state and local private non-profits that provide critical community services.

To apply for Public Assistance funds, eligible agencies and organizations must first submit an RPA to ADEM. More information can be obtained by calling the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management Recovery Branch at 501-683-6700.

The PA program is managed and funded up to 75 percent by FEMA in Arkansas. The program reimburses local and county governments and certain private non-profit organizations for expenses or damage incurred during the disaster and may cover costs for emergency protective measures debris removal and public facility repair or replacement costs including buildings, equipment, utilities, and other facilities.

Applicants must submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPA) to state within 30 days of the date the area was designated part of the federal major disaster declaration.

For more information on Arkansas’ disaster recoveries, visit online at; or

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) is the state's homeland security and emergency management agency. The agency works to identify and lessen the effects of emergencies, disasters and threats to Arkansas by developing effective prevention, preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery actions for all disasters and emergencies.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: