President Declares Major Disaster For North Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
February 26, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Craig Fugate today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for North Dakota to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm during the period of January 20-25, 2010.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm in the counties of Adams, Barnes, Billings, Bowman, Burke, Dickey, Dunn, Emmons, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Ransom, Renville, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Steele, and Walsh and the Standing Rock Indian Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Willie G. Nunn has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Nunn said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top