Main Content

Public Assistance Applicant Briefings Set

Main Content
Release date: 
February 12, 2010
Release Number: 

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Public Assistance (PA) applicant briefings for city and county officials, state agencies and certain private non-profit organizations in 24 Arkansas counties have been set according to federal and state officials.

The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) will explain the application process that community and state officials will follow to receive disaster assistance for emergency and permanent repair work to infrastructure in the wake of recent severe storms and flooding of Dec. 23, 2009 to Jan 2, 2010. 

"Officials attending the briefing will hear from the state on the scope of the public assistance program," said State Coordinating Officer Richard Griffin.

Under the disaster declaration signed Feb. 4, 2010, public assistance (infrastructure) is available to local governments in Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Clay, Cleveland, Craighead, Dallas, Drew, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, White and Woodruff counties, and hazard mitigation is available statewide.

Applicant Briefings Schedule:

Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2010 – 10 a.m.
Prairie County EOC
605 Hwy 38 East, Des Arc, AR  72040
Point of Contact:  Rick Kelley, (501) 319-5015

Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2010 – 10:00 a.m.
Paragould Community Center
3404 Linwood Drive, Paragould, AR  72450
Point of Contact:  Anthony Coy, (501) 580-5006

Thursday, Feb. 18, 2010 – 10:00 a.m.
Hope Fair Park, Third District Fair Coliseum Building
800 Mockingbird, Hope, AR  71801
Point of Contact:  Teresa Smith, (501) 580-9184

Friday, Feb. 19, 2010 – 10:00 a.m.
Star City Civic Center
203 Liberty Street (Hwy 425 & Liberty St), Star City, AR  71667
Point of Contact:  Ken Ouellette, (501) 554-0815

"Affected local governments in the above counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, restoration or replacement of damaged public facilities," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin Hannes.

Disaster assistance may also be provided for damage to facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental-type service facilities.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top