Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For The State Of New Jersey

Main Content
Release date: 
February 5, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON , D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Craig Fugate today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the State of New Jersey to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a snowstorm during the period of December 19-20, 2009.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the snowstorm in the counties of Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean, and Salem.

In addition, assistance is available to state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including snow assistance, for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Stephen M. DeBlasio Sr. has been named the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. DeBlasio Sr. said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: