President Declares Major Disaster For North Carolina

Main Content
Release date: 
February 2, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the state of North Carolina. The assistance will supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe winter storms and flooding during the period of December 18-25, 2009. 

The president's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe winter storms and flooding in the counties of Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Jackson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Watauga, and Yancey counties.

Federal funding also is available to tribal governments and counties on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Michael Bolch has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Bolch said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top