Only Three Days Remain Until Public Assistance Deadline

Main Content
Release date: 
December 29, 2009
Release Number: 

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Only three days remain until the Jan. 2 deadline for Arkansas state and local agencies and certain private non-profit organizations that may be eligible for federal disaster assistance to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) form to the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM).

Public Assistance funds are available in 38 Arkansas counties as part of the federal disaster declaration for severe storms, tornadoes and flooding beginning Oct. 29 and ending Nov. 8. The main goal of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and state Public Assistance program is to provide reimbursement for eligible, disaster-related expenses and restoration of eligible facilities to pre-disaster levels.

Jan. 2 is the deadline to submit an RPA for Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Cross, Dallas, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saint Francis, Scott, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White and Woodruff Counties.

These areas were designated eligible for Public Assistance (PA) on Dec. 3.

Jan. 15 is the deadline for state agencies, local governments and certain private non-profit organizations in Drew County to submit RPAs to the state. Drew County was designated eligible for federal PA funds on Dec.16.

ADEM and FEMA have received more than 70 RPAs from state and local governments and private non-profits that provide critical community services.

To apply for Public Assistance funds, eligible agencies and organizations must first submit an RPA to ADEM. More information can be obtained by calling the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management Recovery Branch at 501-683-6700.

The PA program is administered in Arkansas by ADEM and funded up to 75 percent by FEMA. The program reimburses local and county governments and certain private non-profit organizations for expenses or damage incurred during the disaster and may cover costs for emergency protective measures, debris removal and public facility repair or replacement costs including buildings, equipment, utilities, and other facilities.

Applicants must submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPA) to the state within 30 days of the date the area was designated part of the federal major disaster declaration.

Editors: For more information on Arkansas disaster recovery, visit online at or

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top