Federal Assistance For Nine Disaster Declarations Tops $495 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
October 19, 2009
Release Number: 

Jefferson City, Missouri – Beginning in December 2007, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provided more than $495 million in disaster assistance for nine separate disasters that hit the state.

FEMA worked closely with the State of Missouri and local governments to assist Missourians in recovering from the disasters. The assistance included:

  • More than $27.4 million to help Missourians with temporary housing and home repairs. Another $3 million was provided for Other Needs Assistance, which helps fund the repair or replacement of personal property and disaster-related transportation, moving, medical, dental, and funeral expenses.
  • More than $98,000 for disaster related unemployment claims.
  • More than $14.6 million in loans to homeowners through the Small Business Administration (SBA). Another $10 million was approved in SBA loans to Missouri businesses.
  • More than $404.8 million to fund 6,891 Public Assistance projects throughout the state. Under Public Assistance guidelines, FEMA picks up 75 percent of the cost and the remainder is paid for by the state and local government.

Disaster declarations define the types of assistance made available by the federal government. Those declarations may be for Individual Assistance (IA) for individuals and households, or Public Assistance (PA) for state and local governments and qualifying private nonprofits. Additionally, there are declarations that include both types of assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top