Main Content

State and Federal Disaster Assistance in Western New York Nears $6 Million

Release date: 
October 9, 2009
Release Number: 

CHEEKTOWAGA, N.Y. -- State and federal disaster assistance to help western New Yorkers in Cattaraugus, Chautauqua and Erie counties recover from the Aug. 8-10 storms and flooding is nearly $6 million.

The New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO) the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), partners in the state's disaster recovery, provide the following summary of assistance as of Oct. 8:

  • More than $ 4.1 million in approved disaster assistance for housing and disaster-related needs.
  • More than $1.7 million in approved SBA low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters, and businesses of all sizes.
  • Home inspections are 98 percent completed.
  • 1,347 registrations to date. 816 or 76 percent of registrations approved.
  • Two State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers remain open in affected counties, offering face-to-face assistance to every resident in the three-county area. Centers report more than 1,000 visits to date.

Chautauqua County DRC
Mt. Carmel School
165 Central Ave
Silver Creek, NY 14136
Hours: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays;  9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday; closed Sundays                   

Erie County DRC
Gowanda Fire Hall
230 Aldrich St. 
Gowanda, NY 14070
Hours: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays; 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday; closed Sundays 

To apply for disaster assistance, go online to or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired. Nov. 3 is the deadline to register with FEMA and return the SBA low-interest loan application.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capabilities to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: