Main Content

Seven More Georgia Counties Eligible For Flood Aid To Local Governments

Release date: 
September 30, 2009
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today disaster assistance is expanding to seven additional Georgia counties. This will help pay for emergency measures and to repair, restore or replace public facilities damaged or destroyed by this month's severe storms and flooding.

"Dawson, Dooly, Heard, Houston, Peach, Rockdale and Taylor counties are now eligible for all categories of Public Assistance," Federal Coordinating Officer Gracia Szczech said.

Funding, on a cost-share basis, can reimburse communities for emergency work associated with the disaster and to repair or replace flood-damaged infrastructure.

Fourteen counties already had been designated for Public Assistance: Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Newton Paulding, Stephens and Walker.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations that provide public services. The remaining 25 percent non-federal share comes from state and local sources. The state manages the grants for all projects.

Projects fall into the following categories:

Category A: Debris Removal
Category B: Emergency Protective Measures
Category C: Road Systems and Bridges
Category D: Water Control Facilities
Category E: Public Buildings and contents
Category F: Public Utilities
Category G: Parks, Recreational and other

President Obama's major disaster declaration on Sept. 24 immediately provided Individual Assistance to hard-hit Georgia counties. In 17 designated counties, homeowners and renters who suffered uninsured damages or loss as a result of the flooding may be eligible for disaster grants for temporary housing, home repair and other needs not met by other sources. Homeowners, renters and owners of businesses of all sizes may also be eligible for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The counties designated for Individual Assistance are: Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa,

Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Stephens and Walker.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: